The RDC is jointly headed by a Chairperson and a Co-Chairperson appointed by the President of the Philippines. If the Chairperson comes from the government, the Co-Chairperson must come from the private sector, or vice-versa. Only elective officials are appointed as Chair or Co-Chairperson.

The NEDA Regional Director is the ex-officio Vice-Chairperson of the RDC, while the NEDA Assistant Regional Director is the ex-officio Secretary.

The same officials serve as the ex-officio Chairperson, Co-Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, and Secretary of the RDC Executive and Advisory Committees.

The terms of office of the Chairperson, Co-Chairperson and the PSRs coincide with the regular term of local elective officials. This prescribed term of office is without prejudice to reappointment.

PeriodChairCo-ChairVice ChairSecretary
1995-1998Ma. Angelica Rosedell Amante (Governor, Agusan del Norte)Felix Villacastin Jose Mazo Johnny Lim
1998-2001Valentina Plaza (Governor, Agusan del Sur)Engr. Epimaco Galero Jr. Jose Mazo Johnny Lim
2001-2004Lyndon Barbers (Governor, Surigao del Norte) NoneCarmencita Cochingco 
2004-2007Democrito Plaza II (Mayor, Butuan City)Engr. Leonel SantosCarmencita Cochingco 
2007-2010 None NoneCarmencita Cochingco 
2010-2013Sol Matugas (Governor, Surigao del Norte)Marlon Advincula (Private Sector Representative)Carmencita CochingcoMylah Faye Aurora Carino (2012-2013)
2013-2016Sol Matugas (Governor, Surigao del Norte) Mylah Faye Aurora CarinoRoy Kantuna (2015-2016)
2016-2019Sol Matugas (Governor, Surigao del Norte) None Mylah Faye Aurora Carino (until December 31, 2018) Atty. Bonifacio Uy Roy Kantuna
2019-2022Dale B. Corvera (Governor, Agusan del NorteAtty. Bonifacio G. Uy (2019 until September 2020)
Priscilla R. Sonido (October 2020-2022)

Sectoral Committees

PeriodSectoral CommitteeChairCo-Chair
2016-2019Development AdministrationMayor Alexander Pimentel (Tandag City)Ms. Helen Arellano
Economic DevelopmentMayor Ronnie Vicente Lagnada (Butuan City)Engr. Leonel Santos
Infrastructure DevelopmentDr. Epimaco Galero Jr.Mayor Librado Navarro
Social DevelopmentDr. Pazfegurita OjedaNone
2019-2022Development Administration Mayor Ernesto U. Matugas, Jr., Surigao CityMs. Pazfegurita M. Ojeda, PSR for Education Sector
Economic Development Governor Arlene J. Bag-ao, Province of Dinagat IslandsEngr. Leonel A. Santos, PSR for Mineral Sector
Infrastructure Development Governor Santiago B. Cane, Jr., Province of Agusan del SurEngr. Epimaco M. Galero, Jr., Ph.D, PSR for Logistic Sector
Social Development Mayor Kirk A. Asis, Bayugan CityMs. Conception C. Asis, PSR for Basic Sector