What is Peace and Development Zone or PDZ?

The PDZ is a peace-building initiative which promotes the establishment of durable peace by addressing the root causes of conflict through:

  • Reconciliation
  • Institution building
  • Social, political and economic transformation.

The PDZ recognizes the whole of nation approach in addressing the root causes of insurgency and other conflicts and uses a conflict sensitivity lens in tackling and addressing prevalent issues in the communities.

Legal Bases

The PDZ was adopted as the region’s banner program to combat insurgency during the 2nd Quarter Regional Development Council  (RDC) – Executive Committee Meeting last 18 July 2018.

Subsequently, the identified Peace and Development Zones were endorsed through RDC – Executive Committee Resolution No. 2, Series of 2018.

The PDZ was also adopted through RPOC Resolution No.3, Series of 2018 during the 2nd Quarter Regional Peace and Order Council (RPOC) Full Council Meeting last 23 July 2018.

The PDZ Logo

A Dove's Flight

The dove symbolizes hope. Its green tail represents the mountains of Caraga and its people as well as the components of peacebuilding—safe and secure environment; stable governance; and social well-being.

On the other hand, the blue mountain represents the other components of peacebuilding—sustainable economy and rule of law.

Together, the green and blue mountains symbolize the two broad approaches to peacebuilding – direct work and multi-sectoral coordination.

The dove’s wings color orange symbolizes fire that express the aspiration to transcend to a higher human condition.

The dove is carrying with her three rings that represent the collaboration among local governments, regional development council as well as the private sector. At the center giving guidance to the alliance is the Regional Development Council and the Regional Peace and Order Council. The rings’ purple color represents the power and ambition of attaining long and lasting peace.

The dove is flying east, symbolizing optimism that someday, somehow the sun will rise and heat up the hearts of people and make them feel that peace is the way to development.

Where are the PDZs?

Agusan del Norte

Cabadbaran City (Mahaba)

Buenavista (Guinabsan, Sagay, Lower Olave)

Carmen (Manoligao, Poblacion)

Jabonga (Baleguian, Cuyago, Bangonay)

Kitcharao (Hinimbanga, San Isidro, Bangayan)

Las Nieves (Kasiklan, Lawan-lawan, Durian)

Nasispit (Jaguimitan, Camagong)

Agusan del Sur

Bayugan City (Villa Undayon, Mt. Carmel, New Salem)

Bunawan (Bunawan Brook, Imelda)

Esperanza (Guinono, Kanamaybay, Sinakungan, Kalabuan, Tagbalili, Salug)

La Paz (Lydia, Comota)

Prosperidad (Mabuhay, Magsaysay, La Purisima)

San Luis (Binicalan, Balit)

Sibagat (Padi-ay, New Tubigon, Kioya, Tag-oyango)

Surigao del Norte

Surigao City (Mat-I, Mabini)

Claver (Sapa)

Gigaquit (Lahi, Sico-Sico, Caman-onan)

Alegria (Alipao, Anahaw, Budlingin, Camp Eduard, Ferlda, Gamuton, Julio Ouano, Ombong, Poblacion, Pongtud, San Juan, San Pedro)

Malimono (Bunyasan, Cagtinae, Can-aga, Cansayong, Cantapoy, Cayawan, Doro, Hanagdong, Karihatag, Masgad, Pili, San Isidro,  Tinago, Villariza)

Surigao del Sur

Bislig City (San Roque)

Tandag City (Maticdum, Maitum, Mabuhay)

Lanuza (Sibahay, Mampi, Pakwan, Agsam)

Lianga (Diatagon)

Marihatag (Mahaba)

Tagbina (Sta. Juana)

San Agustin (Buhisan)

San Miguel (Bagyang, Baras, Bitaugan, Bolhoon, Calatngan, Carromata, Castillo, Libas Gua, Libas Sud, Magroyong, Mahayag, Patong, Poblacion, Sagbayan, San Roque, Siagao, Tina, Umalag)

Tago (Lindoy, Layug, Caras-an, Cavale)

Cantilan (Lobo, Cabngahan)

Madrid (Bayogo, San Roque)

Carmen (Hinapoyan)