The Council during the plenary session.

The Caraga Regional Development Council (RDC) convened for its Reorganizational Meeting on 24 August 2022 at the NEDA Caraga Conference Hall, Butuan City following the election of a new set of local chief executives (LCEs) and selection of Private Sector Representatives (PSRs) in the Region. The said meeting was presided over by Caraga RDC Vice Chairperson and NEDA Caraga Regional Director Priscilla R. Sonido, CESO III.

Key to the Council’s reorganizational meeting’s success was the active participation and in-person support of the Region’s key local chief executives which include Agusan del Sur Governor Santiago B. Cane, Jr., Province of Dinagat Islands Governor Nilo P. Demerey, Jr., Surigao del Sur Governor Alexander T. Pimentel, Butuan City Mayor Ronnie Vicente C. Lagnada, Cabadbaran City Mayor Judy C. Amante, Bayugan City Mayor Kirk A. Asis, Surigao City Mayor Pablo Yves L. Dumlao II, Tandag City Mayor Roxanne C. Pimentel, San Jose Capital Town Mayor Yngwie Hero B. Ecleo, Agusan del Norte League of Municipalities of the Philippines (LMP) President and Santiago Municipal Mayor Zenaida C. Lim, alongside the Regional Directors and Heads of Offices of the member-regional line agencies (RLAs).

In a closed-door caucus, the LCEs and PSRs selected their respective nominees from whom the President shall select and appoint as Caraga RDC Chairperson and Co-Chairperson for the remainder of 2022 and 2023-2025 term of office. The Council’s nominees are Gov. Santiago B. Cane, Jr. (Agusan del Sur), Gov. Nilo P. Demerey, Jr. (Dinagat Islands), Mr. Robert Douglas O. Andaya (PSR for Ecotourism Sector), and Mr. Victor Emmanuel A. Ozarraga (PSR for Development Administration Sector).

The Council also elected the officials of its four Sectoral Committees:

Development Administration Committee (DAC)

Chairperson: Mr. Victor Emmanuel A. Ozarraga, PSR for Development Administration

Co-Chairperson: Regional Director Lilibeth A. Famacion, Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) Caraga

Economic Development Committee (EDC)

Chairperson: Mayor Kirk A. Asis, Bayugan City, Agusan del Sur

Co-Chairperson: Ms. Cristina Hemady R. Arcillas, PSR for Logistics Sector

Infrastructure Development Committee (IDC)

Chairperson : Mayor Pablo Yves L. Dumlao II, Surigao City, Surigao del Norte

Co-Chairperson: Mr. Robert Douglas O. Andaya, PSR for Ecotourism Sector

Social Development Committee (SDC)

Chairperson: Mayor Judy C. Amante, Cabadbaran City, Agusan del Norte

Co-Chairperson: Dr. Pazfegurita M. Ojeda, PSR for Education 

Confirmation of the 12 Caraga RDC PSRs with Governor Santiago B. Cane, Jr., administering the pledge of commitment.

To also ensure that the Region’s priority sectors are well-represented in the next three years, the Council also confirmed 12 PSRs for Ecotourism, Logistics, Health, Indigenous Peoples, Agriculture, Fisheries, Environment, Education, Development Administration; Mineral, Labor, and Basic Sector. Gov. Cane of Agusan del Sur administered the PSRs’ pledge of commitment for them to actively engage in the sectors they represent. Bernadette A. Rañola, EDS I

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 1 / 5. Vote count: 2

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?